Congratulations to all the 69 outstanding Landcare champions across nine categories that made up this year’s National Landcare Awards finalists.
It was great to watch three Queensland Winners receive their awards

Coastcare Award

Coolum and District Coastcare

Since 2001, Coolum & District Coast Care Inc has consistently worked hard to galvanise energy and public interest in caring for the coastal environment on the Maroochy north shore of the Sunshine Coast and beyond.

Leigh Warneminde and Edwin Hammet with the 2016 National Coastcare Award

Manpower Young Landcare Leader Award

Co Winners Naomi Edwards and Ella Maesepp (WA)

Naomi is an instigator of progressive change when it comes to addressing environmental issues and is co founder of Intrepid Landcare.

Ella (from WA) has worked as a Landcare Officer in the Upper Blackwood area for 12 years, delivering millions of dollars’ worth of projects to protect biodiversity, manage salinity, increase agricultural sustainability and reduce individual carbon footprints.

Bob Hawke Landcare Award

Stephen Burgess

MRCCC member Stephen Burgess has won the prestigious Bob Hawke Award at the 2016 National Landcare Awards.  It was great to see Glenda Pickersgill accept the award on his behalf.